tears for apartment

I’m 100% positive I have lost all readership so sincere apologies in advance for this sounding like a diary entry that I write under the assumption that one of my sisters will break into my diary after finding its hiding place. Side note: I would “hide” my diary under my pillow, so shame on me really. Anyway, the reason for this post is solely to serve as an outlet for me to unleash all my emotions surrounding my recent move to a new apartment- an outlet that isn’t me randomly throwing my office supplies on the ground that is. That was your warning by the way, not sure what you’re still doing here.

It’s no surprise how obsessed I am with my gurl New York, but seriously what the fuck is up with the housing market here, babe? This time last year I was in the midst of settling into my first nyc apartment in stuytown, which apparently is not pronounced “stewey town,” whatever. Two weeks in I realized it may be exactly my budget, a great area, have central AC and the prettiest chocolate floors ever but that couldn’t make up for the fact that it was basically a brothel with a baby next door who cried for 10 out of 12 months. I still haven’t figured out if the baby crying made the dog bark incessantly or vice versa. Needless to say I was le pumped to start my apartment search this May mostly because I thought (read with a higher-pitch) nothing could be worse than last year. God and Mayor Jay-Z pointed and laughed at that naive thought from there Tribeca penthouse which I can only assume is filled with French bulldogs.

If the amount of tears shed is any indication, this time around was 48 times worse than last year. People at work knew not to ask me how I was doing because the answer would be an ugly cry, like really ugly. I could actually taste an apartment Angie and I found in Bushwick, a 2 bed stunner that was brand new and simply gorgeous I didn’t even care it was a 5th floor walk-up! That soon feel through followed by 4 more times the hardwood floor was pulled out from under us. But nothing comes easy [or cheap], and when I woke up this morning in my brand new room that has four walls and a door I forgot about the trauma and the fact that my savings are gone, for like 8 minutes.

 stay tuned for pictures and posts of my new place [since I’m so broke blogging is the only hobby I can currently afford]! xx

Leave a Reply

