When in Rome for two weeks

“Ideally, you visit Rome slowly. You sit, you stroll, you take it slow and as it comes. You don’t go to see stuff, you let it slip up on you — one piazza, one fountain, one amazing structure at a time. That would be the best-case scenario.”

At the risk of making this blog a Tony Bourdain shrine, the above is another quote for you from the travelman. These words guided me, so to speak, all throughout my two weeks here; one of the lovely things about traveling alone (more on this later) is you can do what you want when you want, and for me that meant the above. Living in a notoriously tourist-filled city like New York you learn to find your own version of the city, and that’s exactly what I intended to do here in Roma.
I spent most of my time here slow-strolling with no particular destination, peeking through one narrow street at a time to decide my next move. Sometimes this lead me to a dead-end but more often than that it lead me to the Piazza del Popolo, the Colosseum and Piazza Navona. With a knack for avoiding tourists traps (maybe more on this later but no promises) and a pretty great sense of direction, Tony’s words have yet to fail me. I’m hardly an expert but I kind of am so take my word [and Tony’s] that it really is the best way to see any given city. Whenever people ask me what to do in New York I tell them to pick a start and an end point and just wander in between. This makes them roll their eyes and walk away. baci e abbracci, Patrizia
One thought on “When in Rome for two weeks

  1. I could not agree with you more…Rome is a city to be walked- slowly and at your pace so you can just take it all in. one of the prettiest sights of the world – in my book is the dawn in Rome – when the light starts to shine on the buildings painted almost in the same pallets…the smell of fresh coffee brewing….I am so happy that you had a chance to experience this – I am sure it will be a memory for a lifetime. Un grande abbraccio!

Leave a Reply

